The Employee Record section allows you to add your sales rep, finance rep, store manager and general manager information to the DeskManager program as well as to set up their commission structure. This can be accessed by clicking File > Setup > Employee Records.
The buttons across the top will become enabled depending on how the page is used. Many of the buttons will be disabled unless an employee from the Complete List section has been double clicked to review their information.
- New – Click this button to add a new Employee. This button will not be available if you are reviewing an existing employee, you will have to save or cancel your actions on the existing employee before you will be allowed to create a new employee.
- Delete – *** Not Recommended *** It is desirable to not delete old employee’s but to ‘expire’ them. Entering a date in the Expired field will remove them from the day to day lists you will work with in the DeskManager program, but leave their information in the system for reporting purposes. Deleting an employee removes their information from the system altogeter and in doing so, may cause gaps to appear in locations where they were previously used. Should you absolutely insist on deleting an employee, you can click this button when the employee is being reviewed.
- Print – This will print a recap of the currently selected employee’s data.
- Save – This will save any changes made to the currently selected employee.
- Cancel – Clicking this button will revert any changes made to this employee to the previous settings prior to the changes.
- Notes – This allows you to save notes in the system regarding the current employee. Type your note in the open area, then click Save Notes to save, or X to exit without saving.
- Help – Clicking the Help Button (yellow question mark) will open this page.
- Exit – Clicking this will exit you from the Employee Records tool.
- Rep ID – This is a sequential number assigned by DeskManager to the employee’s that are being added. You can change the value of this field if you desire, but it is just used to track the employee when used in the various areas of DeskManager.
- Date Hired – Use this to track the employee’s date of hire.
- Expired – When an employee is no longer working with your organization, it is not a good idea to delete them from the system. This can lead to missing information later where that employee’s information may have appeared. Instead when the employee is no longer needed, entering an expiration date in this field will keep the employee’s data intact for historical reporting, but they will be removed from the various lists used for day to day processing. For example, the list of sales people found in the Commission area of a deal.
- User Name – You can associate an employee’s record with their DeskManager user name should you so desire. Select the DeskManager user that will be associated with this employee from this menu option.
- Employee Information Section 1 – Record the employee’s name, address and phone information here as needed by your organization.
- Employee Information Section 2 – Record the employee’s personal information here as required by the laws of the locality were you conduct business.